I was out at a restaurant a week ago and spotted a nice enough family out with their kids. It was final four season, so it isn’t all that unusual to see them wearing college sweatshirts. What got me was the school whose sweatshirts that they were wearing. It was Liberty University. This irked me.

I know that it shouldn’t. Perhaps their daughter went to school there. Maybe the couple met there. All I could think was that they were making a political statement about how they felt about Jerry Falwell and his ilk.

I am trying to imagine if there is some equivalent school sweatshirt that would bother conservatives. Berkeley? The Banana Slugs of U.C. Santa Cruz? I fear that I would have the same reaction to a Bob Jones University sweatshirt. I guess the first step to recovery is recognizing that I have a problem…